A380 – Singapore to London Heathrow

14 04 2010

14hour flight from Singapore to London caused internal injury to my backbone. A380 so what? I was still on cattle class. Ok at least this is SIA so the legroom is better but not good enough for the tall Englishman behind me who refuses to let me recline my seat fully. This is the 3rd time I am in an A380 and I can vouch for it’s ability to handle turbulence.

Wedged in between a friendly lard bucket on the aisle row and my petite lass in the window seat, I had no choice but to keep walking to the toilet to prevent deep vein thrombosis (DVT) or acute back-bone injury.

Wished I had travelled with a baby – they will have given me the bulkhead row for the bassinet, like this cute little girl, enjoying her cozy bassinet

Cute girl enjoying her bassinet

The flight path says we are 2 over hours away from London. It also says the outside temperature is like -20degreesCelsius or -40degrees Celsius as announced by the Captain.  I cannot remember the exact figure but anyway, DO THINK I CARE ?!#%&! the damn about the outside temperature when I am at more than 30,000 ft? I mean, Captain, should I open the window at 30,000 ft and stick my head out like a brown dog on a American roadtrip?

Frost on the window

At last, we arrived in Heathrow but damn, it was long taxi from the runway to the terminal. The captain said that we should appreciate that Heathrow is one of the world’s busiest airport. And again he goes on to announce the outside temperature, this time it is appreciated because at least I know how cold it is when I get out there.

Then I bid farewell to the lard bucket. It’s time to stiffen my upper lip.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment